Collapse Polygoncruncher node in Maya

Exchanges about Polygon Cruncher
Post Reply
csprance
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:21 am
Contact:

Collapse Polygoncruncher node in Maya

Post by csprance » Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:27 am

Hello.
I have a large scene in which there are many polygon cruncher nodes applied.

When I load this scene up it can sometimes takes 2-3 minutes for all the lods to what seems like recalculate. Is there any way to collapse the node down back to a regular maya mesh.

When I collapse it down using something like delete by history it seems to delete uv's and change the materials so is there any way to just "bake/collapse" the node down or at the very least stop it from needing to recalculate each time the scene opens in maya?

mootools
Site Admin
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Collapse Polygoncruncher node in Maya

Post by mootools » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:16 am

Hello,

You might remove the auto calculate option.
Doing that you'll prevent the meshes to be optimized when opening the file.

Use also Edit > Delete By Type > History.

You told that it removes UVs. Do you check Keep Textures in the polygonCruncherSettingsNode panel?
If you don't check it, the textures will be removed.

Manuel

mootools
Site Admin
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Collapse Polygoncruncher node in Maya

Post by mootools » Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:31 pm

Hi,

A good news : an important fix has been done in the last Polygon Cruncher version (11.20).
It is related to Maya points tweaking which might lead to incorrect results in some case.

Manuel

csprance
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:21 am
Contact:

Re: Collapse Polygoncruncher node in Maya

Post by csprance » Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:40 pm

Hey, so the only issue with unchecking the Auto Calculate option is that when I reload the file the meshes are back to being the full polygon resolution instead of being reduced.

Is there a way to cache the results of the calculation and store it without needing to recalculate the reduction each time you load the file up?

It seems to be the choice between

A) Leave Auto Calculate on and just wait in large files
B) Untick Auto calculate and each time I export the file I need to go an manually recalculate the lods (Tick and Untick AutoCalculate to force it to happen)
C) Delete the History of the individual mesh item to collapse the reduction down. (This is ok but I lose the ability to quickly adjust a single lod)

When I'd love to have
D) Reduction calculations are saved and restored upon reload of the maya file


Thanks for the amazing product keep up the great work!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest